All this dreaming I am doing – it may well turn out to be nothing.

So I’ve often tried to articulate the fact that I can’t read any books about India/by Indians since it just feels…wrong and jarring somehow. ESPECIALLY if it’s not written by Indians, even if they aren’t being mean or racist and whatnot. I’d like to think that I’ve become marginally more tolerant however, and have even begun Midnight’s Children recently. Also, I thought I could survive anything after the horror that was Five-Point Someone though I still refuse to read One Night @ a Call-Centre (argh, who uses an @ in the title of their book?) However, this isn’t a rant about bad Indian writing or specifically, Chetan Bhagat. More importantly, I must say that I have finally found an Indian author that I may really, really like. I insist that anyone who wants to read a really good book that’s set in India or just a really good book in general should read White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. This isn’t a book review either so I’m not going to say too much about it. Suffice to say that its pretty awesome, sarcastic and honest and MUST BE READ.

the end.

About this entry